District Profile


District Kasur came into existence on July 1, 1976, after being detached from Lahore district. It is named after Kasur town situated 55 kilometres south of Lahore. It has a glorious past set in spiritual and cultural traditions, nurtured by Sufi saints, musicians and singers.

Kasur though not as old as Lahore, is a brother town of Lahore. There are different traditions about the name Kasur. One is that the town was founded by Kasur/Kasu the son of Ram Chandar and named after him as Kasurpur. The other tradition tells us that the town was founded by pathan families of Kandhar during the period of Akbar. The Pathans constructed some small forts known as Kot. There were about twelve Kots named after the heads of various families. These names still exist. In arabic, Kot or fort is known as Kaser (qaser) and plural of Kaser is Kasur, the name of the town. 


Kasur town is situated, 55 kilometres south of Lahore. The district lies from 300 -40' to 310 - 20' north latitudes and 730 - 38' to 740 - 41' east longitudes.


Kasur is bounded on the north by Lahore district, on the east and south-east by India, on the south-west by Okara district and on the north-west by Nankana Sahib District.


The district has total area of 3,995 square kilometers divided into 4 Tehsils namely Kasur, Chunian, Pattoki and Kot Radha Kishan It has ten Municipal Committees and 125 Union Councils.

General Statistics

General statistics for the District Kasur are mentioned as below:

  • Tehsils: 04 
  • Towns: 10
  • Union Councils: 125
  • National Assembly Seats: 04
  • Provincial Assembly Seats: 09
  • Villages: 641
  • Total Population: 3.46 m (As per Census 2017) (Urban: 25%, Rural: 75%)
  • Kanungoi Circles: 24
  • Patwar Circles: 192
  • Total Area (acre): 975,462
  • Cultivated Area (acre): 808,110
  • Uncultivated Area (acre): 167,352
  • Area (in kms): 3,995 sqkms